Hummingbird Research banner
spacer graphic
Find The Nearest Winter Hummingbird Bander
 
Most hummingbird banders do not travel to band during the summer. They concentrate their research at a few locations, because of the large number of hummingbirds. Eastern banders normally will travel any time of year to document western hummingbirds which are any species other than Ruby-throated. During winter, banders attempt to document all reported hummingbirds. Ruby-throated are considered wintering hummingbirds from November 15 through March 1.
 
Contacts
 
South Alabama, South Georgia, and Florida – Fred Bassett - fhound@aol.com or (334) 868-9658.

Tallahassee and South Georgia - Fred Dietrich – fdietrich@gmail.com or (850) 591-7430

Central Alabama, South Birmingham, and Apalachicola, Florida - Mary Wilson - wilwarb@aol.com or (256) 391-7645

Northeast Alabama - Donna Carroll - redwitch@aol.com or (205) 229-4970

Northwest Alabama and North Birmingham - Fred Moore - foxsparrow@yahoo.com or (205) 490-4911

South Mississippi – James Bell – jbellbirds@gmail.ccom or (601) 798-9389

Louisiana – Nancy Newfield – nancy@casacolibri.net or (504) 338-3882

East Texas – Sue Heath – sheath@gcbo.org or (979) 480-0999

Eastern Missouri - Lanny Chambers - Lanny@Hummingbirds.net or
(636) 225-1487

North Georgia – Julia Elliott – thebirdnerd@comcast.net or (404) 408-6300

North Georgia – Karen Theodorou – Karentheodorou@msn.com or (678) 232-8105

East Tennessee - Mark Armstrong - WoodThrush@bellsouth.net or (865) 748-2224

Central and western Tennessee and north Mississippi – Cyndi Routlege – routledges@bellsouth.net or (931) 206-3517

Arkansas – Tana Beasley – tkmb96@suddenlink.net or (870) 830-4531

Kentucky and Southern Indiana – Brainard Palmer-Ball or Mark Monroe – brainard@mindspring.com or (502) 330-3998

Eastern North Carolina – Susan Campbell – Susan@ncaves.com or (901) 949-3297

Western North Carolina – Dwayne Martin – redxbill@gmail.com or (828) 234-6041

Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, DC, and eastern West Virginia – Bruce Peterjohn – bpeterjohn@verizon.net or (301) 497-1629

Pennsylvania – Sandy Lockerman – sandylockerman@yahoo.com or (717) 329-8040

Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Connecticut – Anthony Hill – Anhinga13@hotmail.com or (413) 575-4809

spacer graphic
spacer graphic
 

Male Rufous
 

Calliopes
 

Leucistic
Ruby-throated

 

Male Allen's
 

Male Broad-tailed